Iowa · ESA vendor directory · free listings

ESA Vendors in Iowa (2026–27)

Students First Education Savings Account pays vendors through Odyssey. Below: what the funds can buy, category by category with the program's rule, then the vendors listed for each one and how to pay them. No vendor has listed itself for this program yet.

Read the Iowa program guide: eligibility, deadlines and official links

What you can buy with Students First Education Savings Account

Each category shows the program's published rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25. A condition or a cap is the normal case; confirm the exact item in the program before buying.

Compare every state

Usually coveredCovered with conditionsUsually not coveredNot stated by the program

  • Usually covered

    Private school tuition & fees

    ESA funds are required to be used for tuition and fees before any other purpose; paid each semester as billed by the nonpublic school.

    Find tuition & fees vendors in other states
  • Not stated by the program

    Online school & virtual courses

    Eligible/Ineligible Expenses guide does not list online/virtual school tuition; ESA requires full-time enrollment in an accredited nonpublic school.

    Find online courses vendors in other states
  • Usually covered

    Curriculum, textbooks & workbooks

    Textbooks and curriculum fees are automatically eligible when billed by the school.

    Find curriculum vendors in other states
  • Usually covered

    Reading books & e-books

    Textbooks (books or software) are automatically eligible when billed by the school.

    Find books vendors in other states
  • Usually not covered

    School supplies & consumables

    Art supplies, writing utensils, personal office/organization supplies (folders, backpacks, calculators, etc.) are listed ineligible.

  • Covered with conditions

    Computers, tablets, software & internet

    Laptops/desktops/tablets and software eligible (some need vendor verification); printers, scanners, phones, smartwatches, game consoles excluded.

    Find technology vendors in other states
  • Usually covered

    Tutoring

    Tutoring is an eligible 'educational therapy service' but only if billed by a credentialed provider.

    Find tutoring vendors in other states
  • Usually not covered

    Classes, co-ops & camps

    Camps (summer, winter, holiday, athletic) and non-school classes are explicitly listed as ineligible expenses.

  • Not stated by the program

    Music, art & sports lessons

    Guide lists 'instruments' and PE/gym course items as eligible course materials but does not separately address private music/sports lessons.

    Find lessons & sports vendors in other states
  • Usually covered

    Educational therapies

    Occupational, speech, behavioral, reading-specialist and cognitive therapies are eligible if billed by an Iowa Board-credentialed provider.

    Find therapies vendors in other states
  • Usually covered

    Testing, exams & evaluations

    Standardized test fees, AP exams, and postsecondary admission/credentialing exam fees are eligible.

    Find testing vendors in other states
  • Usually covered

    College courses, dual enrollment & CTE

    Vocational and life-skills education incl. apprenticeship programs, tech prep, and vocational school are eligible.

    Find dual enrollment vendors in other states
  • Usually not covered

    Transportation

    Transportation costs are explicitly listed as an ineligible expense.

  • Usually not covered

    School uniforms

    Clothing including uniforms, shoes, hats, jackets, socks and sweaters is explicitly listed ineligible.

  • Not stated by the program

    Field trips, museums & educational travel

    Not addressed in the Eligible/Ineligible Expenses guide's lists.

    Find field trips vendors in other states
  • Covered with conditions

    Desks, instruments & learning equipment

    Course-tied equipment (chemistry goggles, sewing machine, PE/gym items) eligible; general household items/furniture explicitly excluded.

    Find equipment vendors in other states

Students First Education Savings Account explicitly excludes: clothing/uniforms/shoes; transportation costs; camps of any kind; childcare before/after school; art & office supplies (pens, folders, backpacks); printers/scanners/computer accessories; non-school classes; educational subscriptions/memberships.

Is it covered by Students First Education Savings Account?

Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.

  • Try:

Vendors for each category in Iowa (2026–27)

No vendor has listed itself for Students First Education Savings Account yet. Listings are vendor-reported until PencilGo checks the program's records; confirm the exact item in Students First Education Savings Account before buying.

Sell to Iowa families and not listed? List your business free

Questions Iowa families ask

Answered from the Iowa program guide and the listings on this page.

Where can I find ESA vendors in Iowa?

Iowa Department of Education / Odyssey keeps the official list for Students First Education Savings Account; start at Iowa Department of Education: Students First ESA. This page will list vendors that report serving Iowa families as they list themselves, with how to pay each one; none has yet.

How do I pay a vendor with Students First Education Savings Account funds?

Each listing names how it is paid. The program reviews the purchase before the vendor is paid.

Can I buy curriculum and worksheets with Students First Education Savings Account?

Students First Education Savings Account funds may cover accredited nonpublic-school tuition and fees; textbooks, curriculum and software; computers, tablets and approved technology; tutoring, therapies and disability-related materials. Purchases use the Odyssey marketplace; outside reimbursement is not available. Approval does not replace admission to a private school.

Who qualifies for Students First Education Savings Account?

Any Iowa-resident K–12 student enrolled full-time in an accredited Iowa nonpublic school may apply, regardless of income.

Every state with an education savings account or scholarship program, with the vendors listed for it.

Serve families in Iowa? List your business free

Tell families which programs you serve and how they pay you. A person reviews every listing within 3 business days. There is no fee to list.

List your business

Independent information

PencilGo is an independent company, not a state agency or program administrator. A listing here does not mean the program has approved every product a vendor sells. Confirm the exact item and how you pay in Students First Education Savings Account before buying.