Can I buy a laptop or tablet with Students First Education Savings Account?
With conditions. Laptops/desktops/tablets and software eligible (some need vendor verification); printers, scanners, phones, smartwatches, game consoles excluded.

16 kinds of expenses, each checked against the program's published rules as PencilGo read them on 2026-09-25. Pick one to see its vendors, or type an item to check it.
Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.
Covered: usually coveredDepends: covered with conditionsNot covered: usually not coveredNot stated: not stated by the program
ESA funds are required to be used for tuition and fees before any other purpose; paid each semester as billed by the nonpublic school..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Eligible/Ineligible Expenses guide does not list online/virtual school tuition; ESA requires full-time enrollment in an accredited nonpublic school..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Textbooks and curriculum fees are automatically eligible when billed by the school..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Textbooks (books or software) are automatically eligible when billed by the school..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Art supplies, writing utensils, personal office/organization supplies (folders, backpacks, calculators, etc.) are listed ineligible..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Laptops/desktops/tablets and software eligible (some need vendor verification); printers, scanners, phones, smartwatches, game consoles excluded..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tutoring is an eligible 'educational therapy service' but only if billed by a credentialed provider..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Camps (summer, winter, holiday, athletic) and non-school classes are explicitly listed as ineligible expenses..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Guide lists 'instruments' and PE/gym course items as eligible course materials but does not separately address private music/sports lessons..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Occupational, speech, behavioral, reading-specialist and cognitive therapies are eligible if billed by an Iowa Board-credentialed provider..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Standardized test fees, AP exams, and postsecondary admission/credentialing exam fees are eligible..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Vocational and life-skills education incl. apprenticeship programs, tech prep, and vocational school are eligible..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Transportation costs are explicitly listed as an ineligible expense..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Clothing including uniforms, shoes, hats, jackets, socks and sweaters is explicitly listed ineligible..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Not addressed in the Eligible/Ineligible Expenses guide's lists..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Course-tied equipment (chemistry goggles, sewing machine, PE/gym items) eligible; general household items/furniture explicitly excluded..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Students First Education Savings Account explicitly excludes: clothing/uniforms/shoes; transportation costs; camps of any kind; childcare before/after school; art & office supplies (pens, folders, backpacks); printers/scanners/computer accessories; non-school classes; educational subscriptions/memberships.
With conditions. Laptops/desktops/tablets and software eligible (some need vendor verification); printers, scanners, phones, smartwatches, game consoles excluded.
Yes. Textbooks and curriculum fees are automatically eligible when billed by the school.
Students First Education Savings Account's published guidance does not state whether music, art and sports lessons are eligible. Ask the program before buying.
Yes. Tutoring is an eligible 'educational therapy service' but only if billed by a credentialed provider.
Before using ESA funds. Provider approval or a marketplace listing does not approve every product or confirm that a funded purchase can be made. Check Students First Education Savings Account's current rules and payment route before buying; a direct card purchase does not guarantee reimbursement. This hub is educational information, not legal, tax or eligibility advice. PencilGo is independent of state agencies.