Can I buy a laptop or tablet with Education Freedom Account?
Yes. Computers, laptops, tablets and basic educational peripherals (printer, router, headphones) for the student's education are covered.

16 kinds of expenses, each checked against the program's published rules as PencilGo read them on 2026-09-25. Pick one to see its vendors, or type an item to check it.
Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.
Covered: usually coveredDepends: covered with conditionsNot covered: usually not coveredNot stated: not stated by the program
Private school tuition and mandatory fees (enrollment, lab fees) are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Handbook lists 'online course subscriptions' under curricula but has no standalone online-school tuition line; not separately confirmed..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Homeschool curricula, textbooks, workbooks and online course subscriptions for core subjects are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Textbooks and instructional materials are covered as part of homeschool curricula..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Everyday school supplies (pencils, paper, notebooks, crayons, scissors, markers, backpacks) are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Computers, laptops, tablets and basic educational peripherals (printer, router, headphones) for the student's education are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tutoring services and academic enrichment classes from an approved tutor or learning center are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Co-curricular academic/skill courses (fine arts, STEM, CTE) covered; non-academic extracurricular activities count toward a 25% annual cap..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Musical instruments, sports gear/participation and membership dues (gym/zoo/museum) count toward a combined 25%-of-funds annual cap..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Speech, OT, behavioral and other specialized therapy services from licensed providers covered for a student with special needs..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Standardized test fees (AP, ACT/SAT, CLEP, certification testing) are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Fees for college courses taken during high school for dual credit are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Transportation to/from a participating school or provider is covered, capped at the state's approved mileage reimbursement rate..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.School uniforms required by a private school's dress code, including PE uniforms if mandated, are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Recreational travel, lodging and meals for trips (even educational ones, e.g. a Washington D.C. trip) are explicitly not covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Musical instruments and sports/art equipment covered but count toward the 25%-of-funds Extracurricular/PE/Field Trip cap..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Education Freedom Account explicitly excludes: Entertainment content (video games, streaming, TVs); Medical/health costs (doctor, dental, medications, health insurance); Late fees, penalties, cancellation fees, donations; Non-uniform clothing; Home internet/utility bills; Recreational travel, lodging, meals for trips; Post-high-school college tuition; Full-time public school enrollment.
Yes. Computers, laptops, tablets and basic educational peripherals (printer, router, headphones) for the student's education are covered.
Yes. Homeschool curricula, textbooks, workbooks and online course subscriptions for core subjects are covered.
With conditions. Musical instruments, sports gear/participation and membership dues (gym/zoo/museum) count toward a combined 25%-of-funds annual cap.
Yes. Tutoring services and academic enrichment classes from an approved tutor or learning center are covered.
Before using ESA funds. Provider approval or a marketplace listing does not approve every product or confirm that a funded purchase can be made. Check Education Freedom Account's current rules and payment route before buying; a direct card purchase does not guarantee reimbursement. This hub is educational information, not legal, tax or eligibility advice. PencilGo is independent of state agencies.