Can I buy a laptop or tablet with Education Scholarship Trust Fund?
With conditions. Computers/laptops/iPads up to $1,500; monitors/printers up to $300; one of each device every 2 years; drives $50 max each

16 kinds of expenses, each checked against the program's published rules as PencilGo read them on 2026-09-25. Pick one to see its vendors, or type an item to check it.
Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.
Covered: usually coveredDepends: covered with conditionsNot covered: usually not coveredNot stated: not stated by the program
Tuition and fees at an approved independent school.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tuition/fees for approved nonpublic online education service provider or course (math, English, science, etc.).
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Curriculum, textbooks and student workbooks by subject (math, English, science, social studies, language, art, music).
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Reading books explicitly listed as an approved expense.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.ClassWallet Marketplace includes school supplies alongside technology devices.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Computers/laptops/iPads up to $1,500; monitors/printers up to $300; one of each device every 2 years; drives $50 max each.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tutoring by subject (math, English, science, social studies, language, art, music).
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Individual classes, after-school tutoring, extracurricular activity fees, out-of-district fees.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Music instruments capped $500/yr purchase or $150/mo rental; extracurricular fees for music/sports allowed.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.ABA, speech, physical, occupational, vision, dyslexia/dysgraphia therapies for students with disabilities.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25."Test Preparation" listed as an online-course subject; grades 3-11 must complete required testing but fee coverage not specified.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.FAQ does not address college-level/dual-enrollment courses; not found in ESTF FAQ.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Fees through an approved provider only, $3,000 annual limit; excludes parent-provided mileage; separate transaction required.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.$500 total allowed per year.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Not explicitly addressed in ESTF FAQ beyond general extracurricular activity fees.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Calculators capped $200/yr (one graphing calculator every 2 yrs); broader equipment (furniture, lab gear) not addressed.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Education Scholarship Trust Fund explicitly excludes: Any purchase not made through ClassWallet Direct Pay or the ClassWallet Marketplace; Gas mileage reimbursement to a parent/guardian for transportation; Enrollment in an Option 1-3 homeschool association (disqualifies ESTF participation).
With conditions. Computers/laptops/iPads up to $1,500; monitors/printers up to $300; one of each device every 2 years; drives $50 max each
Yes. Curriculum, textbooks and student workbooks by subject (math, English, science, social studies, language, art, music)
With conditions. Music instruments capped $500/yr purchase or $150/mo rental; extracurricular fees for music/sports allowed
Yes. Tutoring by subject (math, English, science, social studies, language, art, music)
Before using ESA funds. Provider approval or a marketplace listing does not approve every product or confirm that a funded purchase can be made. Check Education Scholarship Trust Fund's current rules and payment route before buying; a direct card purchase does not guarantee reimbursement. This hub is educational information, not legal, tax or eligibility advice. PencilGo is independent of state agencies.