Can I buy a laptop or tablet with CHOOSE Act Alabama?
With conditions. Computers capped at $1,200 per student, 1 purchase every 2 years. Tech aids capped at $500/year total; gaming devices, SMARTboards, TVs excluded.

16 kinds of expenses, each checked against the program's published rules as PencilGo read them on 2026-09-25. Pick one to see its vendors, or type an item to check it.
Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.
Covered: usually coveredDepends: covered with conditionsNot covered: usually not coveredNot stated: not stated by the program
Tuition and most school fees (application, registration, technology, testing, etc.) at a participating school are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tuition/fees for an approved nonpublic K5-12 online learning program covered, but only in listed subjects (art, ELA, math, science, etc.)..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Curriculum, textbooks (listed subjects only) and supplemental reading materials covered for individual student use, no bulk orders..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Textbooks (incl. audiobooks) in listed K5-12 subjects, plus reference books and workbooks, are covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Instructional materials (paper, binders, calculators, art supplies, science kits) covered; no bulk orders, individual student use only..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Computers capped at $1,200 per student, 1 purchase every 2 years. Tech aids capped at $500/year total; gaming devices, SMARTboards, TVs excluded..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Private tutoring (in-person or online) in listed subjects covered; tutor must be accredited/degreed with background check..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.After-school/summer programs covered only if provided by a participating school, education-based, not child care, within academic year..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Music (voice/instrument) lessons covered as tutoring. Athletic/sports fees and extracurricular activity fees are explicitly disallowed..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.ABA, dyslexia/dysgraphia, OT, PT, speech and vision therapy covered for students with disabilities; provider must be licensed/accredited..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Fees for standardized/nationally recognized assessments, college admissions tests, AP exams and related prep courses covered..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Dual enrollment classes covered only for approved subjects at participating in-state colleges/universities..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Transportation is explicitly listed as a disallowed school fee; tutor supply fees also cannot include transportation..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Uniforms are explicitly listed as a disallowed school fee..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Field trip fees are explicitly listed as a disallowed school fee..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Microscopes and telescopes covered, limited to $250 each. General lab/science kits covered only if aligned with approved subjects..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.CHOOSE Act Alabama explicitly excludes: Field trips; Uniforms; Transportation; Athletic/sports and extracurricular activity fees; Gaming-labeled computers/tech; SMARTboards, TVs, external speakers/hard drives, 3D printers; Child care; Insurance/late/fundraising fees.
With conditions. Computers capped at $1,200 per student, 1 purchase every 2 years. Tech aids capped at $500/year total; gaming devices, SMARTboards, TVs excluded.
Yes. Curriculum, textbooks (listed subjects only) and supplemental reading materials covered for individual student use, no bulk orders.
With conditions. Music (voice/instrument) lessons covered as tutoring. Athletic/sports fees and extracurricular activity fees are explicitly disallowed.
Yes. Private tutoring (in-person or online) in listed subjects covered; tutor must be accredited/degreed with background check.
Before using ESA funds. Provider approval or a marketplace listing does not approve every product or confirm that a funded purchase can be made. Check CHOOSE Act Alabama's current rules and payment route before buying; a direct card purchase does not guarantee reimbursement. This hub is educational information, not legal, tax or eligibility advice. PencilGo is independent of state agencies.