Can I buy a laptop or tablet with Education Scholarship Account?
With conditions. Computer hardware/software/tech devices allowed only if school, tutor, provider, or doctor verifies in writing they are essential for the student's goals.

16 kinds of expenses, each checked against the program's published rules as PencilGo read them on 2026-09-25. Pick one to see its vendors, or type an item to check it.
Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.
Covered: usually coveredDepends: covered with conditionsNot covered: usually not coveredNot stated: not stated by the program
Tuition and/or fees at an eligible (accredited nonpublic) school are allowable; additional fees only if they directly impact educational needs..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tuition and/or fees for online learning programs or courses are an explicitly allowable expense..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Payment for purchase of curriculum, including supplemental materials required by the curriculum, is allowable..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Textbooks, and textbooks related to dual-enrollment postsecondary coursework, are allowable..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Capped at no more than $50 per year in consumable supplies necessary for educational services, therapies, classroom activities and tutoring..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Computer hardware/software/tech devices allowed only if school, tutor, provider, or doctor verifies in writing they are essential for the student's goals..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Payment to a tutor is allowable only if the tutor is state/regional/nationally certified or licensed; student cannot be homeschooled or public-enrolled..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Covered only as services provided by a public school (individual classes and extracurricular programs); standalone camps are not addressed..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Not addressed in the enumerated 14-item Allowable Expenses list or the FAQ..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Educational services/therapies from a licensed or certified practitioner, incl. paraprofessionals/aides, are allowable; student can't be homeschooled/public-enrolled..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Fees for nationally standardized norm-referenced tests, AP exams, and college/university admission exams are allowable..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Postsecondary tuition/fees/textbooks allowable for a high-school student dual enrolled; not allowable after high school graduation..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Fees for transportation to and from an educational service provider, paid to a fee-for-service transportation provider, are allowable..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Not among the 14 enumerated allowable expenses; the Attachment B list states funds 'can only' be used for the listed items..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Not among the 14 enumerated allowable expenses in MDE's exhaustive Attachment B list..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.General equipment (furniture, instruments) is not among the 14 enumerated categories; only verified computer/tech devices and a surety bond are named..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Education Scholarship Account explicitly excludes: cash or cash-equivalent items (gift cards, store credit, refunds, rebates) to family; most out-of-state school tuition; enrollment in a home-instruction program while receiving ESA funds; tutoring/therapy for a homeschooled or public-school-enrolled student.
With conditions. Computer hardware/software/tech devices allowed only if school, tutor, provider, or doctor verifies in writing they are essential for the student's goals.
Yes. Payment for purchase of curriculum, including supplemental materials required by the curriculum, is allowable.
Education Scholarship Account's published guidance does not state whether music, art and sports lessons are eligible. Ask the program before buying.
With conditions. Payment to a tutor is allowable only if the tutor is state/regional/nationally certified or licensed; student cannot be homeschooled or public-enrolled.
Before using ESA funds. Provider approval or a marketplace listing does not approve every product or confirm that a funded purchase can be made. Check Education Scholarship Account's current rules and payment route before buying; a direct card purchase does not guarantee reimbursement. This hub is educational information, not legal, tax or eligibility advice. PencilGo is independent of state agencies.