Can I buy a laptop or tablet with Education Freedom Account?
With conditions. Computer $3,600 cap (1 per 3 yrs), tablets $1,600 cap, other devices $800 cap; general household internet and cell service are excluded.

16 kinds of expenses, each checked against the program's published rules as PencilGo read them on 2026-09-25. Pick one to see its vendors, or type an item to check it.
Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.
Covered: usually coveredDepends: covered with conditionsNot covered: usually not coveredNot stated: not stated by the program
Private school tuition and student fees (academic services, activity, application, athletics, book, technology, test, uniform fees) are allowable..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Non-public/private online learning program tuition and fees are an explicit allowable-use category (RSA 194-F:2 II.(b))..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Textbooks, curriculum, or other materials required by the course/program/lesson are allowable if within the core knowledge domains..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Textbooks (books, workbooks, study materials, e-textbooks, e-workbooks, educational videos) are allowable..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.School supplies (calculator, backpacks, math tools, writing utensils) allowed as instructional materials; craft/household/office bulk items are excluded..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Computer $3,600 cap (1 per 3 yrs), tablets $1,600 cap, other devices $800 cap; general household internet and cell service are excluded..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tutoring by a certified/accredited individual or facility in the core knowledge domains is allowable (RSA 194-F:2 II.(c))..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tuition/fees for qualifying academic camps and education programs, incl. summer programs and co-op/microschool classes, are allowable..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Education-program examples explicitly list dance, music lessons, martial arts, soccer, swimming, theater, and similar team/class activities..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Special-education services and therapies (occupational, behavioral, physical, speech-language, audiology) are allowable (RSA 194-F:2 II.(l))..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Fees for standardized assessments, AP exams, portfolio evaluations, and college admission exams, plus prep-course tuition, are allowable..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Career/technical school and college/university tuition and fees are allowable for a dual-enrolled high schooler, not after graduation..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Only a fee-for-service bus/transportation provider under contract qualifies; Uber/Lyft, planes, trains, cruises, and boats are excluded..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Only items specifically required by the school's written uniform policy qualify; general clothing/dress-code items do not..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Individual admission to an educational facility (e.g. museum) is allowed with an explanation of educational purpose; amusement/water parks excluded..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Athletic equipment/passes capped at $500/item; musical instruments allowed as instructional materials; furniture and multi-user items excluded..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Education Freedom Account explicitly excludes: cell phones, smartwatches, smart glasses/rings; general household internet/routers; furniture; toys (Lego, dolls, stuffed animals, RC vehicles); streaming services & podcasts (Netflix-type, Spotify); trips/travel incl. Uber/Lyft, planes, cruises; live entertainment (amusement parks, concerts, bowling); food and kitchenware; family/group memberships and subscriptions.
With conditions. Computer $3,600 cap (1 per 3 yrs), tablets $1,600 cap, other devices $800 cap; general household internet and cell service are excluded.
Yes. Textbooks, curriculum, or other materials required by the course/program/lesson are allowable if within the core knowledge domains.
Yes. Education-program examples explicitly list dance, music lessons, martial arts, soccer, swimming, theater, and similar team/class activities.
Yes. Tutoring by a certified/accredited individual or facility in the core knowledge domains is allowable (RSA 194-F:2 II.(c)).
Before using ESA funds. Provider approval or a marketplace listing does not approve every product or confirm that a funded purchase can be made. Check Education Freedom Account's current rules and payment route before buying; a direct card purchase does not guarantee reimbursement. This hub is educational information, not legal, tax or eligibility advice. PencilGo is independent of state agencies.