Can I buy a laptop or tablet with Texas Education Freedom Accounts?
With conditions. Computer hardware or software capped at 10% of total amount transferred to the child's account that year

16 kinds of expenses, each checked against the program's published rules as PencilGo read them on 2026-09-25. Pick one to see its vendors, or type an item to check it.
Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.
Covered: usually coveredDepends: covered with conditionsNot covered: usually not coveredNot stated: not stated by the program
Tuition and fees at a private school, higher-ed provider, online course/program, or TEA-approved credential-training program.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tuition and fees for an "online educational course or program" explicitly included.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Textbooks or other instructional materials.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.General reading books not addressed separately from required textbooks/instructional materials.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Not addressed separately from instructional materials on the families page.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Computer hardware or software capped at 10% of total amount transferred to the child's account that year.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Private tutoring listed as an approved expense.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Fees for classes from a school district that do not count toward the district's average daily attendance.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Music/art/sports lessons not explicitly addressed on the families page.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Educational therapies not covered by federal, state, or local government benefits (e.g. Medicaid).
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Academic assessment costs listed as an approved expense.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Tuition/fees at a higher-education provider or industry-credential training program approved by TEA.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Transportation to/from approved providers listed as an approved expense.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Required uniforms listed as an approved expense.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Not addressed on the families page.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Not addressed separately from the 10% technology cap.
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Texas Education Freedom Accounts explicitly excludes: Payments to a family member for any service; Technology purchases exceeding 10% of the year's account transfer.
With conditions. Computer hardware or software capped at 10% of total amount transferred to the child's account that year
Yes. Textbooks or other instructional materials
Texas Education Freedom Accounts's published guidance does not state whether music, art and sports lessons are eligible. Ask the program before buying.
Yes. Private tutoring listed as an approved expense
Before using ESA funds. Provider approval or a marketplace listing does not approve every product or confirm that a funded purchase can be made. Check Texas Education Freedom Accounts's current rules and payment route before buying; a direct card purchase does not guarantee reimbursement. This hub is educational information, not legal, tax or eligibility advice. PencilGo is independent of state agencies.