Can I buy a laptop or tablet with Family Empowerment Scholarships and PEP?
With conditions. Per Step Up's FAQ, computers/devices are authorized for FES-UA with a 2-year purchase limit; not itemized in the authorized-use table.

16 kinds of expenses, each checked against the program's published rules as PencilGo read them on 2026-09-25. Pick one to see its vendors, or type an item to check it.
Type what you want to buy, for example a product name, a class or a service. We check it against the program's published expense rules and show the rule.
Covered: usually coveredDepends: covered with conditionsNot covered: usually not coveredNot stated: not stated by the program
Tuition/fees for full-time or part-time private school, hybrid school, or home education program covered, but combos vary by scholarship..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Approved online/virtual provider tuition and private-pay Florida Virtual School are covered for FES-UA, FES-EO/FTC and PEP..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Curriculum and curriculum materials are authorized for all programs, incl. Direct Pay for NWSA..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Books fall under the covered 'instructional materials' authorized-use category..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Covered under the same 'instructional materials' authorized-use line as curriculum; no separate supplies category listed..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Per Step Up's FAQ, computers/devices are authorized for FES-UA with a 2-year purchase limit; not itemized in the authorized-use table..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Full-time private tutoring covered for FES-UA/PEP; part-time tutoring covered for FES-UA, FES-EO/FTC, PEP and NWSA (Direct Pay)..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Specialized summer/after-school education programs covered for FES-UA; reading/math-focused summer/after-school programs covered for NWSA..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.The authorized-use table lists music/art and horse therapy (FES-UA) but no general music/art/sports lessons category; not confirmed..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.ABA, speech, OT, PT, listening/spoken-language, psychotherapy/counseling, vision, horse, and music/art therapy covered for FES-UA only..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Standardized testing fees are authorized for FES-UA, FES-EO/FTC and PEP..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Dual enrollment is authorized for FES-UA, FES-EO/FTC and PEP..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Transportation does not appear as an authorized-use line in the 2025-26 Authorized Use of Scholarship Funds table..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Uniforms do not appear as an authorized-use line in the 2025-26 Authorized Use of Scholarship Funds table..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Field trips do not appear as an authorized-use line in the 2025-26 Authorized Use of Scholarship Funds table..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.General equipment (desks, instruments, lab gear) is not itemized in the authorized-use table; likely folds into instructional materials..
Rule as PencilGo read it on 2026-09-25.Family Empowerment Scholarships and PEP explicitly excludes: Any use not listed in the Authorized Use of Scholarship Funds table (closed, positive list only).
With conditions. Per Step Up's FAQ, computers/devices are authorized for FES-UA with a 2-year purchase limit; not itemized in the authorized-use table.
Yes. Curriculum and curriculum materials are authorized for all programs, incl. Direct Pay for NWSA.
Family Empowerment Scholarships and PEP's published guidance does not state whether music, art and sports lessons are eligible. Ask the program before buying.
With conditions. Full-time private tutoring covered for FES-UA/PEP; part-time tutoring covered for FES-UA, FES-EO/FTC, PEP and NWSA (Direct Pay).
Before using ESA funds. Provider approval or a marketplace listing does not approve every product or confirm that a funded purchase can be made. Check Family Empowerment Scholarships and PEP's current rules and payment route before buying; a direct card purchase does not guarantee reimbursement. This hub is educational information, not legal, tax or eligibility advice. PencilGo is independent of state agencies.